ФЭНДОМ


Gorillaz-2D-jamie-Hewllet
Упс! Эта статья ещё не закончена!

Вы можете помочь, кликнув по кнопке "Править" в углу.

Superfast Jellyfish - шестой трек из альбома Gorillaz 2010 года - Plastic Beach и ограниченный сингл. Приглашённые гости: Gruff Rhys и De La Soul. Дэйв (персонаж, работающий в подвале пластиковый пляжа на сайте Gorillaz), вероятно, говорил об этой песне, когда упомянул новый сингл под названием "Розовая Вонючая Рыба".

Несмотря на множество ремиксов выпущенные в качестве промо, трек был включен в The Singles Collection 2001-2011, но он никогда не был полноценным розничным синглом, ведь был снят с графика выпуска Gorillaz в пользу "On Melancholy Hill".

Комментарий Мёрдока

«

Когда вы думаете о Gorillaz, вам хочется иметь супер-пушистое животное там, не так ли? Я всегда любил их, поэтому я отправил самолет, чтобы забрать Gruff Rhys и взять его сюда.

Этот трек, одно веселье. Если вы прибавите его достаточно громко, все цвета начнут разливаться и вымываться из динамиков. Вы могли бы наполнить свою комнату такой дорогой.

»

Мёрдок Никкалс

Текст

This morning you've got time for a hot home-cooked breakfast
Delicious and piping hot in only three microwave minutes
Are you kidding!?

Yo, pretty packages of frosted delights
Look it comes with a toy
I like that I want a number four, number six
And throw in a plastic doughnut
Just enjoy the gritty crunch that tastes just like chicken
Wrappers of many bite sizes
Man, are you freaking blind?
That's a rock
All mixed in the potful
Momma's homemade from scratch, well not quite
Toasted over flames they be tasting quite right

All hail King Neptune and his water breathers
No snail thing too quick for his water feeders
Don't waste time with your net
Our net worth is set
Ready, go many know others
We be the colors of the mad and the wicked
We be bad, we re-brick it
With the twenty-four hour signs
Shower mine happens
While you dine like rabbits
With the crunchy, crunchy carrots
Oh that's chicken
Gotta have it super fast

A whole line of breakfasts you've got time for

Super fast, super fast
I come in last
But just in time for breakfast
Keep it through, keep it through, forever blue
The night, the night throws at us
Aluminum, I crush for fun, aluminum
The sea is radioactive, the sea is radioactive

All hail king Neptune
And his water breathers
No snail thing too quick for his water feeders
Don't waste time with your net
Our net worth is set
Ready, go many know others
We be the colors of the mad and the wicked
We be bad, we re-brick it
With the twenty-four hour signs
Shower mine happens
While you dine like rabbits
With the crunchy, crunchy carrots
Oh that's chicken
Gotta have it super fast

Super fast, super fast
I come in last
But just in time for breakfast
Keep it through, keep it through, forever blue
The night, the night throws at us
Aluminum, I crush for fun, aluminum
The sea is radioactive, the sea is radioactive

Superfast jellyfish (x4)
(Don't waste time)
Superfast jellyfish (x2)
(The sea, has gone silent)
(What!)
(Everybody loves jellyfish!) (x4)
Superfast jellyfish (x18)

Видеоклип

Видеоклип начинается черно-белой сценой, изображающей взъерошенного человека, вставающего с постели. Затем человек понял, что пришло время завтракать и вытащить коробку с Superfast Jellyfish и кладёт её в микроволновую печь. После нескольких секунд ожидания, анимированная медуза выскакивает из коробки, чтобы поприветствовать человека, который с нетерпением ждал завтрака. Медуза затем выплывает из микроволновки и участвует в сложной психоделической танцевальной последовательности с мужчиной; в сопровождении других медуз. Видео заканчивается черно-белым крупным планом на мужчине, пожирающем красочных медуз, и съедая его щупальца.

Популярность

Популярность этой песни основана на ее довольно таинственно случайном контексте. У самой песни мало смысла, минус тот факт, что здесь завтрак, который рекламируется - это медуза. Существует определенная подсказка, что это своего рода хлопья, что связано с тем, что «она поставляется с игрушкой» и что она может похвастаться исключительным «суровым хрустом, который на вкус точно так же, как цыпленок». Тем не менее, тот факт, что он может быть приготовлен на открытом огне, а в микроволновой печи говорит иначе, возможно, что это может быть завтрак-закуска поп-тарта. Существует возможность, что песня говорит о многих разных вариантах закуски, поскольку в строке упоминается «целая линия завтраков, на которые у вас есть время». Несмотря на это, он может быть подготовлен в относительно быстрых «трех микроволновых минутах», отсюда и название "Superfast".

Скрытый смысл

Несмотря на то, что трек прост и хорош, он привлек внимание многих поклонников, что в нём есть скрытое значение.

Многие предположения приводят к использованию альтернативных источников пищи. Например, во всей песне есть отрицание в песне, произнесенной Gruff Rhys, что означает, что мясо в этом вымышленном завтраке - курица. Это может быть истолковано в каком-то смысле, что его обманули, чтобы думать, что то, что он ел, действительно курица, когда это на самом деле медуза.

Другая интерпретация заключается в том, что песня является социальной критикой индустрии фаст-фуда, которая льет прибыльные финансовые награды, висящие перед легковерной, ленивой публикой, которую легко соблазняют маркетинговые трюки (т.е. красивые пакеты, игрушки).

Кроме того, интересно отметить, что 2-D пробормотал свой путь через хор. Без помощи пачки текстов может быть трудно расшифровать слова, которые он поет здесь. Это могло бы еще больше укрепить предыдущее утверждение, что с гостями рэперы, говорящие довольно четко (голос потребителей), и 2-D, представляющие голос производителей Superfast Jellyfish. Тот факт, что бормотания 2-D можно интерпретировать как голос производителей как нечеткий при введении продукта, не сообщая публике, что в нем, если они не читают факты питания (тексты песен).

Существуют и другие идеалы, которые говорят, что песня имеет скрытый смысл, который отличает метафору «медуз» как своего рода наркотик, похожий на слухи, стоящие за "Clint Eastwood".

Несмотря на то, что они не дают источника, ChaCha.com имеет еще одну интерпретацию: «Песня - очень саркастическая игра в музыкальной индустрии. Она комментирует, как все глубокое и стоящее удешевляется и поливается, потому что его быстро и легко поддерживать с таким быстро развивающимся миром ».

Также неизбежно думать о каком-то кулинарном печенье быстрого приготовления, которое продается на завтрак, песчаный хруст и все такое.

Слухи о песне, ссылающейся на популярную детское шоу - "SpongeBob Squarepants" также изобилуют, так как на шоу видны фаст-фуды, медузы и даже король Нептун делает случайные выступления.

Другие появления медузы

"Супербыстрая Медуза" сделала несколько появлений в других музыкальных клипах, а также в играх. В музыкальном видео «Stylo» полицейская машина рушилась прямо через рекламный щит с рекламой Superfast Jellyfish. В музыкальном клипе «On Melancholy Hill» флот подводных лодок встретил рой сверхбыстрых медуз на пути к Пластичному пляжу, измельчив несколько в процессе. В игре Escape to Plastic Beach, медузы можно увидеть под водой, поскольку Мёрдок плавает, чтобы спасти 2-D и Киборг Нудл. Кроме того, в одном из двух заставках, доступных в альбоме Plastic Beach Experience, несколько медуз видят плавают по экрану.

Plastic Beach
Основные треки
Orchestral Intro · Welcome to the World of the Plastic Beach · White Flag · Rhinestone Eyes · Stylo · Superfast Jellyfish · Empire Ants · Glitter Freeze · Some Kind of Nature · On Melancholy Hill · Broken · Sweepstakes · Plastic Beach · To Binge · Cloud of Unknowing · Pirate Jet
Бонусные треки
Pirate's Progress · Three Hearts, Seven Seas, Twelve Moons

FANDOM


Four scenes from Superfast Jellyfish
Jellyfish

Covert art for the single.

Superfast Jellyfish is a promotional single and the sixth track on Gorillaz' 2010 album, Plastic Beach. It features the talents of Gruff Rhys and De La Soul. Dave (the mechanic working in the Plastic Beach basement on the Gorillaz' site) was probably talking about this song when he mentioned a new single called "Pink Stink Fish".

Although a raft of remixes were issued as promos, and the track is included on The Singles Collection 2001-2011, it never became a full retail single, being dropped from the Gorillaz release schedule in favour of On Melancholy Hill.

Content

Band member Murdoc Niccals stated the following about "Superfast Jellyfish" in a track-by-track commentary:

"When you think about Gorillaz, it makes sense to have a Super Furry Animal on there, doesn’t it? I’ve always loved them, so I sent a jet over to pick Gruff up and take him over here."'

"A lot of fun, this track. If you turn it up loud enough all the colours start spilling and washing out of the speakers. You could flood your room with a track like this."

Gorillaz - Superfast Jellyfish Official Video02:58

Gorillaz - Superfast Jellyfish Official Video

Lyrics

This morning you've got time for a hot home-cooked breakfast
Delicious and piping hot in only three microwave minutes
Are you kidding!?

Yo, pretty packages of frosted delights
Look it comes with a toy
I like that I want a number four, number six
And throw in a plastic doughnut
Just enjoy the gritty crunch that tastes just like chicken
Wrappers of many bite sizes
Man, are you freaking blind?
That's a rock
All mixed in the potful
Momma's homemade from scratch, well not quite
Toasted over flames they be tasting quite right

All hail King Neptune and his water breathers
No snail thing too quick for his water feeders
Don't waste time with your net
Our net worth is set
Ready, go many know others
We be the colors of the mad and the wicked
We be bad, we re-brick it
With the twenty-four hour signs
Shower mine happens
While you dine like rabbits
With the crunchy, crunchy carrots
Oh that's chicken
Gotta have it super fast

A whole line of breakfasts you've got time for

Super fast, super fast
I come in last
But just in time for breakfast
Keep it through, keep it through, forever blue
The night, the night throws at us
Aluminum, I crush for fun, aluminum
The sea is radioactive, the sea is radioactive

All hail king Neptune
And his water breathers
No snail thing too quick for his water feeders
Don't waste time with your net
Our net worth is set
Ready, go many know others
We be the colors of the mad and the wicked
We be bad, we re-brick it
With the twenty-four hour signs
Shower mine happens
While you dine like rabbits
With the crunchy, crunchy carrots
Oh that's chicken
Gotta have it super fast

Super fast, super fast
I come in last
But just in time for breakfast
Keep it through, keep it through, forever blue
The night, the night throws at us
Aluminum, I crush for fun, aluminum
The sea is radioactive, the sea is radioactive

Superfast jellyfish (x4)
(Don't waste time)
Superfast jellyfish (x2)
(The sea, has gone silent)
(What!)
(Everybody loves jellyfish!) (x4)
Superfast jellyfish (x18)


[1]

  1. "Plastic Beach [Japanese experience edition]", TOCP-66950, booklet pp.15-16


Song's Context

The popularity behind this song is based in its rather mysteriously random context. There is little depth to the peppy song itself, minus the fact that there is a breakfast item of some sort being advertised made with freeze-dried jellyfish, although what kind of item that it is remains ambiguous. There is some clue that it is a sort of cereal, what with the fact that "it comes with a toy" and that it boasts exceptional "gritty crunch that tastes just like chicken". However, the fact that it comes in "wrappers of mini bite sizes" and that it can be cooked over open flames and in a microwave says otherwise, perhaps that it may be a Pop-Tart variety breakfast-snack. There is a possibility the song is talking about many different variations of the snack, as a line mentions "a whole line of breakfasts you've got time for". Regardless, it can be prepared in a relatively fast "three microwave minutes", hence the name Superfast.

Possible Hidden Meaning

Although lovingly simple and groovy in its own regards, Superfast Jellyfish is so very elementary that it has garnered the attention of many fans that there is a hidden meaning laced between the lines.

Many assumptions lead towards a turn to a use of alternative food sources. For instance, throughout the song, there is a denial in the song said by Gruff Rhys which denotes that the meat in this fictional breakfast is chicken. This could be interpreted in a sense that he has been fooled to think that what he's eating is indeed chicken, when it is in fact jellyfish.

Another interpretation is that the song is a social critique of a fast food industry that reaps lucrative financial rewards dangling mysterious carrots in front of a gullible, slothful public easily lured by marketing gimmicks (i.e. pretty packages, frosting, toys).

In addition, it is interesting to note that 2D mumbles his way through the chorus. Without the aid of a pack of lyrics, it can be hard to decipher the words he sings here. This could also further reinforce the previous claim, what with the guest rappers speaking rather clearly (the voice of consumers), and 2D representing the voice of the producers of Superfast Jellyfish. The fact that 2D mumbles could be interpreted as the producers voice as being fuzzy when introducing a product without telling the public what's in it unless they read the nutrition facts (lyrics).

There are other ideals that say the song has a hidden meaning which lays the metaphor of "jellyfish" as a sort of drug, similar to the rumors behind Clint Eastwood.


Though they do not give a source, ChaCha.com has yet another interpretation: "The song is a very sarcastic play on the music industry. It comments on how everything deep and worthwhile is cheapened and watered down because its quick and easy to keep up with our fast-paced world that way."

It's also unavoidable to think about a certain fast food chicken biscuit that is marketed for breakfast, gritty crunch and all.

Rumors of the song referencing the popular children's T.V. show, Spongebob Squarepants are abound as well, as the show prominently features fast food, jellyfish, and even King Neptune makes occasional appearances.

Music Video

Gorillaz - Super Fast Jellyfish - (Video)02:58

Gorillaz - Super Fast Jellyfish - (Video)

The official Superfast Jellyfish music video

With the release of Plastic Beach album, the official music video was made available for download to users that purchased the Deluxe Edition of the album. It was also made available for purchase and download on iTunes. The music video opens with a black and white scene depicting a disheveled man crawling out of bed. The man then realized that it was time for breakfast and pulls out a box of Superfast Jellyfish before stuffing it into the microwave. After several seconds of waiting, a technicolor animated jellyfish pops out of the box to greet the man who was anxiously waiting for breakfast. The jellyfish then floats out of the microwave and engages in an elaborate psychedelic dance sequence with the man; accompanied by an entire school of jellyfish. The video ends with a black and white closeup on the man devouring the colorful jellyfish and slurping it's tentacles into his mouth.

Appearances in Various Media

The titular Jellyfish has made several appearances in the other music videos as well as in games. In the Stylo music video, the police car went crashing right through a billboard containing an advertisement for Superfast Jellyfish. In the On Melancholy Hill music video, the fleet of submarines encountered a swarm of Superfast Jellyfish on their way to Plastic Beach, shredding a few in the process. In the Escape to Plastic Beach Game, the jellyfish can be seen underwater as Murdoc swims to save [[2-D and Cyborg Noodle. In addition, in one of the two screensavers available in the Plastic Beach Experience edition of the album, several Superfast Jellyfish are seen swimming across the screen.

The Remixes CD tracklisting

  • Superfast Jellyfish (Unicorn Kid Remix)
  • Superfast Jellyfish (Evil Nine Remix)
  • Superfast Jellyfish (Mighty Mouse Remix)


Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.